nickel.jpg

I made an observation yesterday when someone in my class used the age old phrase “If I had a nickel…” I brushed it off at first but then I thought about the whole thing. People use this phrase all the time when something happens to them a lot in one day. They say, “If I had a nickel for every time someone said I looked like Chris Kattan.” If you did have a nickel for every time someone said that you’d have…like 3 dollars? Maybe. It’s a pointless saying. If that has happened to you more than 5 times why don’t you say “If I had 5,000 dollars for every time…” Then you’d be in business. It’s your fantasy why not make your own rules. Why limit it to something that seems to be a reoccurring thing? Why not say, “If I had 40 million dollars for every time I graduated High School or was diagnosed with liver cancer”? You be rich without even having something happen over and over. If I had a nickel for every time I wrote on this blog I’d have less than a dollar, but if I had 20 million dollars for every time I wrote on this blog I’d be in a way bigger house.

