FOR 2008 LINEUP, CLICK HERE

It’s widely known by now that the music acts at Rutgersfest on April 27 will be Hawthorne Heights, Everclear, and The Roots. I’m not going to pretend to be an expert on any of these three bands, but there are a few things I can say all the same.

1) There is absolutely no question that the act I am least interested in seeing is Hawthorne Heights. This is for the simple reason that they are an emo/screamo act. Some people like that stuff. I am not one of them. For those who do…enjoy. I’ll probably be doing somethign else when they’re on stage.

2) I was listening to a couple Everclear songs before to try and maybe get a read on them. I didn’t think it was bad, but it wasn’t like it totally jumped out at me, either. I’ll be more interested in checking these guys out to see what kind of a show they put on, and because I still don’t know much about them.

3) To me, The Roots are the most intriguing out of this lineup. As I was discussing with fellow 41MTFer Tom the other day, when you see the Roots, one thing you’re not going to see is something like “We Fly High” (Ballin’) or “This is Why I’m Hot;” this group has a different sound to them, and in ?uestlove (pictured above, courtesy of the Onion A.V. Club), they have a widely respected drummer. All in all, I’m most interested to see how they are sounding out of any of the three groups playing.

That said, I still can’t be 100% sure what to expect, which makes me look forward to going all the more. If you read this, hopefully I’ll see you there on the 27th, although you will almost certainly be wasted out of your mind.

