As a straight adult man, I get some strange looks from friends and loved ones when they find out my sheer love of the Disney Channel Movie High School Musical. While I know it was very corny, I find it incredibly endearing, engaging, and entertaining. The music is catchy, the actors are attractive, and the whole production just makes you want to sing and dance.

Today, Disney announced a release date for the second movie. They report that it will air Friday, August 17.

According to Zap2it:

“All the stars return from the first hit movie to participate in a summer extravaganza at a posh country club. Troy (Zac Efron) lands a job at the Albuquerque club and then maneuvers a lifeguard position for Gabriella (Vanessa Anne Hudgens) to join him, little knowing that diva Sharpay (Ashley Tisdale) wants to keep them apart.
The rest of the East High Wildcats — Chad, Taylor, Zeke, Martha, Kelsi and Jason — also join in the fun and are gearing up for the Midsummer Night’s Talent Show, in which Troy and Gabriella may just score a winning duet, unless Sharpay can stop them. Other returning cast members include Lucas Grabeel, Corbin Bleu, Monique Coleman, Olesya Rulin, KayCee Stroh and Ryne Sanborn.”

I’ve never been so excited in my life; everyone is coming back! There were a lot of reports that Zach and Vanessa, along with others, were holding out on their contracts. Thankfully, Disney is willing to pay these children out the ass for their abilities, so fans won’t have to deal with some strange device like “Troy spending the summer in France” or however they’d weasel out of that situation. I think I’ll celebrate this news by watching my HSM DVD with the karaoke version turned on. I mean… I don’t own the karaoke version of High School Musical on DVD… I’m a grown man.

It’s the start of something new, it feels so right to be here with you, yeah…

Oh no! I hope you all didn’t just hear me typing what I was singing. If you did, please don’t tell anyone. I really want girls my own age to respect me, and this certainly wouldn’t help. But as long as you know, check out this sweet award I won on the HSM site:

