mavs.jpg

The 2007-08 NBA season is right around the corner and it’s time for some world famous sports predictions from yours truly. For some reason I forgot to do my NHL predictions but I’m back and better than ever for the NBA.

Western Conference

This is a conference is stacked. It blows away the Eastern Conference. It’s almost unfair to the great teams of the West that they have to play each other before they even get to the NBA Finals. It’s always a dogfight, here’s how I see things shaking out.

In the Northwest Division I like Denver Nuggets. With Allen Iverson and Carmello Anthony on the same team they will be a very dangerous contender once the playoffs come around. Also Kenyon Martin adds size and toughness down low. This should be a great year for Denver.

In the Pacific Division I like the Phoenix Suns. Over the last few seasons they have been the staple of what an NBA team should be. Multiple MVP award winner Steve Nash is arguably the best player in the game. This team’s starting five is stacked. The addition of Grant Hill can only help.

In the Southwest Division I like the Dallas Mavericks. I look for the Mavs to bounce back off a horrible playoff loss to the Warriors last year. Dirk Nowitzki is a big time player, this is the year for it all to come together. I love the way Josh Howard plays and he got rewarded with his first All-Star appearance last season. The Mavs will be good.

Seedings

  1. Dallas Mavericks
  2. Phoenix Suns
  3. Denver Nuggets
  4. San Antonio Spurs
  5. Utah Jazz
  6. Houston Rockets
  7. New Orleans Hornets
  8. Los Angeles Lakers

For my Western Conference Champion, I’ll take the Dallas Mavericks

Eastern Conference

All the buzz this season is about the new look Celtics. With a big three of Garnett, Pierce, and Allen they should be a force to be reckoned with, but do I think they will live up to the hype?

Yes. In the Atlantic Division I am hopping on the bandwagon and taking them to win this division.  Don’t sleep on the Knicks, Nets, or Raptors though.  They are all very capable of winning the division.  Yes, even the Knicks, watch out for them this year.

In the Central Division I’m going to take the Pistons.  Year after year they are among the top of the conference.  This year should be no different.  I see the Cavs taking a dip after last year’s run to the NBA Finals and the Bulls aren’t quite there yet.

In the Southeast Division I think the Orlando Magic will come out on top.  With the talent they have it wouldn’t be surprising if they made a playoff run.  Rashard Lewis, Dwight Howard, and Hedo Turkoglu give them plenty of size.

Seedings

  1. Boston Celtics
  2. Detroit Pistons
  3. Orlando Magic
  4. Chicago Bulls
  5. Cleveland Cavaliers
  6.  Miami Heat
  7. Toronto Raptors
  8. New York Knicks

For my surprising Eastern Conference pick I will take the Chicago Bulls.

In the NBA Finals I like the Mavs over the Bulls in 7.  Should be a great season.

