In my journalism class, we read articles written by the Associated Press for their straightforward leads and objectivity.  So why did the AP writer, whose article appears right now on SI.com, decide it was OK to write this in the biggest story of the night, “Ohio St., LSU to vie for national title“:

Why did LSU, which was seventh in the BCS standings heading into the final weekend, make the jump to No. 2 and into the big game, while Oklahoma, Southern California, Georgia and a number of others were left behind?

The 174 poll voters and handful of computer nerds whose calculations make up the BCS rankings probably all have their own reasons.

Really? You’re blaming this on the nerds?

I mean, I have the same question about this title game (and I hate SEC bias more than anything, so I’m extra suspicious).  I don’t like how people vote with their gut,  and say “Well, dagummit, LSU just feels right in there! They’re a traditional power!” because there are facts and numbers saying that other teams deserve it more.  But these computers have a fairly understood formula, the nerds can’t just go in there and tweak it when they want something.

There’s also the argument coach Les Miles and athletic director Skip Bertman offered up Saturday night: The Tigers went undefeated in regulation this season — their two losses both coming in triple overtime.

Paper-thin as that line of reasoning may sound, it’s as good as any in this topsy turvy season…

You are calling their logic paper-thin.  I’m sure you’ve properly attributed this?  Oh… you haven’t.  So that’s just how you feel.

And you’re really an AP writer?

The rest of the BCS games are filled with teams that had every bit as good an argument as LSU for a spot in the title game.

I’m still waiting for the ,” said (ANY SOURCE).  But maybe that’s just me — I mean, I’ve taken Intro to News Reporting and Writing, so I must just be more informed on the standards.

This is from the AP web site:

AP’s mission is to be the essential global news network, providing distinctive news services of the highest quality, reliability and objectivity with reports that are accurate, balanced and informed.

Objective… balanced… so, I guess that means they shouldn’t be written by a fan of a team that got snubbed? They must have just forgotten about that when they published this story, then.

Hey, I just wrote this:

“Yesterday, two nerds who probably use computers sat in their house and rooted for West Virginia as they lost Pitt in the final game of the regular season.  They were idiots for doing it, because everyone knows Pitt rules.  I hope they are dead now.”

Can I have a job now?

