Courtesy BBC

Pete’s post on The Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.’s “I Have a Dream” speech reminded me what a great guy MLK was; he really did dream big.  But how many of his dreams have come true?  Let’s run down the list and see we, as a nation, are doing thus far.

Dream #1:

 I have a dream that one day this nation will rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed: “We hold these truths to be self-evident: that all men are created equal.”

Close, but not quite yet.  As long as there’s a need for Affirmative Action, which there is, this one can’t get checked off. Verdict: NO

Dream #2

 I have a dream that one day on the red hills of Georgia the sons of former slaves and the sons of former slave owners will be able to sit down together at the table of brotherhood.

Georgia is a big state, and I’m positive that statistically, descendants of slaves and slave owners would had to have sat down together at some point. Verdict: YES

Dream #3

I have a dream that one day even the state of Mississippi, a state sweltering with the heat of injustice, sweltering with the heat of oppression, will be transformed into an oasis of freedom and justice.

Ha ha! Nope. Maybe they aren’t lynching people anymore but… nope.  Verdict: NO

Dream #4

 I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character.

How could anyone not love MLK’s kids?  Their dad was seen as basically a modern-day saint, and they are a bunch of great people (except Bernice, who seems like she can get pretty nasty).  Verdict: YES

Dream #5

 I have a dream that one day, down in Alabama, with its vicious racists, with its governor having his lips dripping with the words of interposition and nullification; one day right there in Alabama, little black boys and black girls will be able to join hands with little white boys and white girls as sisters and brothers.

This is tough, but I’m going to give Alabama the benefit of the doubt here.  I’m sure there are still little hick towns where things can get nasty, but in the nice suburbs and bigger cities there are plenty of tolerant people. Verdict: YES

Dream #6

 I have a dream that one day every valley shall be exalted, every hill and mountain shall be made low, the rough places will be made plain, and the crooked places will be made straight, and the glory of the Lord shall be revealed, and all flesh shall see it together.

Yikes… a completely flat, plain world with no crooked lines?  That would be the creepiest planet ever.  And no, I don’t think this is a metaphor.  I think the glory or the Lord is revealed by him not making us live in that insane, sea-level hell. I mean, how would we go sledding? Verdict: NO

So it seems that America is 3/6 right now, and we better pick it up.  Because when Zombie Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. comes back to check up on us, he sure as hell won’t be pleased with 50%.

