juno-1.jpg

The Oscar nominees were announced and after viewing the list I had a few quick thoughts on some of the people and movies that got nominated.

I think my first big thrill was seeing the amount of nominations that Juno got. It was good to see that movie recognized. My feelings are that it is definitely this year’s Little Miss Sunshine. I don’t give it much of a chance for Best Picture and I don’t think Ellen Page is going to win for Best Actress but I think Diablo Cody has a really good chance to win for screenplay.

I think Daniel Day-Lewis is an absolute lock for Best Actor. I haven’t even seen any of these performances either, I’m just getting the vibe from Hollywood like I did last year with Forrest Whitaker that Lewis’ performance is one for the ages.

I think that it’s a tossup for Best Picture between No Country For Old Men and There Will Be Blood. Though from observations I tend to think that No Country For Old Men is going to get the award.

I think that Ratatouille may not be the overwhelming favorite for Best Animated Picture that everyone thinks it is.

Lastly I think, no, I know that I need to see a whole bunch of movies before this year’s Oscars and I’m going to get started right away.

