Roy Scheider

I am deeply saddened to report that Roy Scheider passed away today at the age of 75. Best known for his role as Police Chief Martin Brody in the classic film JAWS, Scheider died due to complications from multiple Myeloma which is a cancer of the blood cells.

I know that many people out there barely know of Roy’s existance because honestly he didn’t have that many classic roles under his belt. But all I have to say to that is “hey, he was the police chief in JAWS.” In my opinion, JAWS is one of the best films ever made. The strongest element of the film is the acting. Roy played the everyman and to his credit, he put us right there in the water with that shark every step of the way. He made it real.

On the set, the main characters of the film (Roy Scheider, Robert Shaw, and Richard Dreyfuss) were always known as the “Big 3.” Today that number drops to 1 with the loss of Robert Shaw in 1978 and of Roy today. I’m already warming up my DVD player to watch JAWS today because it just feels right. 

In closing, I first want to leave everyone with a bit of trivia. Roy Scheider actually improvised on the set of JAWS the famous movie line “You’re gonna need a bigger boat.” It is not only still a pop culture reference that many use in one way or the other, but it is also a line that makes the film so much better.

And this one’s for you Roy: Show me the way to go home. I’m tired and I want to go to bed. I had a little drink about an hour ago, and it’s gone right to my head. Wherever I may roam, on land, or sea or foam, you will always hear me singing this song, show me the way to go home…   

I hope you find your way home Chief.

