somostuyyo

I was watching Unavision today and I saw a hip teen show on, so I decided to keep with it for a while.  The show was called “Somos Tú y Yo,” and though I’ve had some trouble finding information about it in English, I’m proud to say that I think I might have found the HSM of South America.

As far as I can tell, it was a miniseries on the Venezuelan channel Venevisión (which may now be a tool of the Chávez administration).   I don’t know if what I’m watching on Unavision is the whole thing (it’s two hours long) or just one part of it.  I’m not really following the plot closely enough to figure it out.

Granted, there already are various latino adaptations of HSM, but “Somos” is different.  It shares similarities with HSM, but is very different in a few ways. It’s still the story of two high schoolers who fall in love and we watch the relationship grow through songs, sung by them or large groups of students.  But everything else is distinctly South American, even if the story seems to be a bit more formulaic than HSM was.

Example of a group song:

The show seems very cute, and it balances romance, humor and music just like HSM.  There is also a character with a stutter who talks to a man in a mexican wrestling mask, and I can’t tell if it’s a drug trip or an imaginary friend or something.  They just tried to make it seem like we were fast forwarding through a long part of their conversation, but instead of actually filming them talking and then just speeding it up, they made them move around like robots while playing a fast-forward sound.  It was awkward, they didn’t even move quickly.

There is a fairly huge internet following behind the series, though none of the pages are in English.  I did just hear someone on the show say “fashion emergency” in English, though. So if anyone from those sites wants to give us a little background info on the series here, please leave a comment.  I’m very interested in learning more.

Here is the final “Breaking Free” song moment:

