colbertboob.jpg

On the February 14th episode of the Colbert Report (I remember the date because it was Valentine’s Day and Pete and I were spending the night together), Stephen was interviewing Leonard Nimoy about his new book The Full Body Project, where he photographed nude women who didn’t fit the mold of society’s stereotype of “beautiful” (read: fatties).

During the interview, Colbert said something along the lines of “We’ve already been told what’s beautiful.  Blonde, skinny, big tits.” It shocked me!  I wasn’t offended or anything, but I was caught off guard for sure. Can Stephen Colbert say “tits” on the air?  It’s one of the 7 Words, and even though I know cable isn’t held to FCC regulaltions, I would think that Comedy Central would basically have the same rules.  They let South Park get away with saying it, but thats because advertisers know what they’re getting into when they sign up for that.  I’m not trying to raise an alarm here, I’m just showing some concern for Colbert.  I hope he didn’t lose any advertising coin because of it.

And I know it was over a week ago, but it was on again tonight and I remembered that I wanted to write about it.

