Who would have guessed that when you remove Garfield from the Garfield comic strips, the result is an even better comic about schizophrenia, bipolor [sic] disorder, and the empty desperation of modern life?

The quote above is from Garfield Minus Garfield, a blog (or Tumblelog, if you want to get geeky) where the author removes Garfield the cat from his own comic and, in doing so, isolates his owner Jon as a man living alone with mental illness. And yes, it’s as weird as it sounds, if not weirder.

I rarely just point out great sites on here, especially ones that get so much more traffic than we ever will. But when I first saw this, I think I actually fell in love.  It’s a hilarious idea, executed perfectly.  If you hate Garfield as much as I do, then its worth checking out.  And if you don’t think you hate Garfield, I dare you to go back and try reading it again now that you’re an adult.  It’s just awful.

