from barnesandnoble.com

Neuroscientist V.S. Ramachandran’s Phantoms in the Brain chronicles some of the most interesting neurological disorders he’s ever encountered. Some of them sound downright unbearable, such as people who lose limbs, yet can still feel the limb’s presence as though it were still attached – and in some cases, feel horrible pain in the fake limbs that they are obviously powerless to stop, since the source of the pain doesn’t even exist.

Then, there was a completely different class of disorder that caused people to experience hallucinations in spots where they were otherwise completely blind. One woman hallucinated cartoon characters in her blind spots. And that…is awesome. I might be talking about what an unfortunate thing this disorder is, too – if I didn’t want it so badly.

(And a note to those of you who may find this insensitive and trivializing a disorder: the woman who saw the cartoons caled her hallucinations “most amusing,” and another man with different blind spot hallucinations said of his disorder, “Well, it kind of does [bother me] because it makes me curious about why I experience them, but it really doesn’t get in my way. I’m much more worried about the fact that I’m blind than about the fact that I see hallucinations. In fact, sometimes they are fun to watch because I never know what I’m going to see next.” So take that, hypothetical detractors.) 

